DUI is an enhanceable offence meaning that the penalty for each DUI increases with proof of a prior DUI or DUI's. Each prior DUI counts against you when sentenced on a subsequent DUI, which means you will get longer amounts of jail time, higher fines, and a longer license suspension.
2nd DUI (Misdemeanor)
Your 2nd DUI charge, if your driving didn't lead to serious bodily injury, would be a 1st-degree misdemeanor. Punishments could include:
- Jail for up to 9 months; 1 year if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was over 0.15%
- Fine for up to $1,000; $2,000 if your BAC was over 0.15%
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for at least 1 year
- License suspension for a minimum of 6 months
- Impoundment of your vehicle for 30 days
Schedule your free consultation today!
Within 5 Years
The punishments increase if your 2nd DUI was within 5 years of a prior conviction. You have a mandatory minimum stay of 10 days in jail on this charge, and your fine is $2,000 regardless of BAC. The ignition interlock device will also remain in your car for at least 2 years, and your license will be mandatorily suspended for 5 years. Additionally, your car will be impounded for 90 days.
In addition, you will likely be placed on 12 months of probation, attend Multi Offender DUI school, and be ordered to get alcohol or drug treatment.
3rd DUI (Misdemeanor/Felony)
The 3rd DUI can be one of the most severe. If your last conviction was more than 10 years before this charge, it is a misdemeanor. However, if the DUI was more recent, you will be charged with a felony, which has much harsher punishments.
If you're facing a 3rd DUI, you could be sentenced with some of the following sentences:
- Jail for 30 days to 1 year; 5 years if you were charged with a felony
- Fine of $2,000 to $5,000
- License suspension for a minimum of 1 year; 10 years if you were charged with a felony
- Impoundment of your vehicle for 90 days
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for a minimum of 2 years
- 1 year of misdemeanor probation; supervision by the Florida Department of Corrections if you were charged with a felony
- Mandatory DUI school
4th or More DUI (Felony)
Regardless of how long ago your last DUI was, a 4th (or more) DUI charge is an automatic felony. These convictions carry a maximum sentence of 5 years prison. Your license will also be permanently revoked, meaning you can never legally drive in Florida again. Additionally, there is a minimum mandatory fine of $2,000, which can be increased to $5,000 if the judge orders it.
Call Us If You've Been Arrested for Another DUI
You don't want another DUI on your record. Even 1 arrest for this charge can make finding a job difficult. In order to protect yourself from jail time, high fees, and employment discrimination, contact us as soon as possible. Our experienced St. Petersburg DUI attorney has 29 years of total experience in criminal law. Trust him to advocate on your behalf and defend your freedom.
- All charges dropped. 2 Counts Battery
- Reduced to 3 Counts. Wh/Adj 3 years probation. 5 Counts Possession of Child Pornography
- Reduced to 2 counts. Wh/Adj and probation. 9 Counts - Possession of Child Pornography.
- Not Guilty after Jury Trial Aggravated Assault with a Firearm
- All charges Dropped. Aggravated Assault With Motor Vehicle
- Reduced to Felony Battery, dismissed, sealed. Aggravated Battery
Our Clients Share Their Experience
I was very satisfied with his services and he was the best attorney that I have had the experience working with.Lloyd Law, Jr.
I have referred clients to him over the years with the confidenceLegal Professional
Brilliant and fearless advocateLegal Professional
15 years experience in the State Attorney's office
Confidential, complimentary initial consultations
Accepting calls and cases 24 hours a day
Exclusively devoted to criminal defense
Named Prosecutor of the Year in 2004
Impressive track record of charge reductions, acquittals, and dismissals