Often after a DUI charge, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will suspend a person's driver license for a period of time. Typically, the suspension will last from 180 days to 1 year, unless your previous offense was within 5 years. In those cases, the suspension would be for 5 years (with no possibility of a hardship license after the 4th DUI). However, people find it difficult to get from place to place without a car, particularly if they live far from their job. If they can't get a hardship license, they might risk driving carefully to and from their destination, hoping they don't get pulled over. But, what happens when they do?
Schedule your free consultation with The Law Office of Timothy Hessinger today - contact us!
If someone is caught driving with a suspended license for the 1st time, he or she could face 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. A 2nd offense is a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which means they could get 1 year in jail. A 3rd offense could result in felony charges, which might mean 5 years in prison and a fine of up to a $5,000 fine.
Habitual Traffic Offender
Driving without a license has the most severe consequences if someone repeatedly commits the crime. For those who commit a 3rd offense, and the previous 2 offenses occurred within 5 years, they could be labeled Habitual Traffic Offenders. This status can result in a 5-year license revocation with no possibility of getting a hardship license until a full year has passed since their most recent conviction.
There are many ways an attorney could defend your case. Our excellent St. Petersburg DUI lawyer could use some of the following arguments:
- The traffic stop wasn't valid
- The defendant was not driving
- The Department of Motor Vehicles did not send the defendant notice of the suspension
- The defendant was not driving on a roadway open to the public
- The vehicle is not a "motor vehicle" for purposes of the driver license statute
- The defendant's license has been reinstated
If there are no valid defenses available, a lawyer may seek to change the charge to No Valid Florida Driver's License or, in some cases, to a civil citation. Amending the charge could lessen the penalties immensely.
You Can Call Us 24 Hours a Day
Timothy Hessinger is a former 15 year prosecutor, so he knows how to navigate both sides of the courtroom. Trust him with your case.
- All charges dropped. 2 Counts Battery
- Reduced to 3 Counts. Wh/Adj 3 years probation. 5 Counts Possession of Child Pornography
- Reduced to 2 counts. Wh/Adj and probation. 9 Counts - Possession of Child Pornography.
- Not Guilty after Jury Trial Aggravated Assault with a Firearm
- All charges Dropped. Aggravated Assault With Motor Vehicle
- Reduced to Felony Battery, dismissed, sealed. Aggravated Battery
Our Clients Share Their Experience
I was very satisfied with his services and he was the best attorney that I have had the experience working with.Lloyd Law, Jr.
I have referred clients to him over the years with the confidenceLegal Professional
Brilliant and fearless advocateLegal Professional
15 years experience in the State Attorney's office
Confidential, complimentary initial consultations
Accepting calls and cases 24 hours a day
Exclusively devoted to criminal defense
Named Prosecutor of the Year in 2004
Impressive track record of charge reductions, acquittals, and dismissals